Music from Jeeves and Wooster

One of my favourite TV shows is Jeeves and Wooster. Starring Hugh Laurie and Stephen Fry, the show was based on the Jeeves stories by P.G. Wodehouse, who is also probably my all-time favourite comic author and whose works I enjoy immensely.

Back when I first began watching the show and was getting into P.G. Wodehouse, many years ago – it actually started with Carry On, Jeeves; the first Wodehouse book I ever read – I discovered The World of Jeeves and Wooster: an album of the music from the show. Seemingly sold as a limited release, it was out of print at the time of my discovery, although the years since have made the songs from the album available online and easier to acquire, including on iTunes. On iTunes the songs are individually priced at $1.29 or $11.99 (Canadian) for the whole album.

If you enjoyed listening to Bertie Wooster singing silly songs such as “Minnie the Moocher” or “Nagasaki” in the show, both of which get a backing band (an additional track, titled “Minnie the Moocher is Alive and Well and Living in Berkley Court” includes Bertie and Jeeves’ amusing call and response, see in the video below) then you might enjoy the songs on this album. You’re in for a treat!

2 thoughts on “Music from Jeeves and Wooster

  1. I just bought the first one from iTunes because they had a ‘Brit sale’, so I am going to give it a go. I love the music! If you like this style of music and show, I recommend the A&E production of ‘Nero Wolfe” with Timothy Hutton, Maury Chaykin, etc. (wonderful actors)… it is fantastic and I wish they had continued it!

Leave a Reply

